Robert James Award for Preservation Excellence

The North Carolina Preservation Consortium (NCPC) is accepting nominations for the annual Robert James Award for Preservation Excellence. Libraries, museums, archives, historic sites, and other organizations in North Carolina with a mission to preserve tangible heritage of enduring value are eligible for nomination. Tangible heritage includes includes art, artifacts, library and archival collections, natural history specimens, musical instruments, textiles, technology, monuments, memorials, archaeological sites, and historic and cultural architecture. This award is not for recognizing the preservation accomplishments of individuals.

At least two external letters of support must be received for consideration. Excellence should be demonstrated with descriptions of successful projects and programs that highlight the organization’s significant commitment to preservation.

The award winner will be announced at the NCPC annual conference in November. All letters must be received by October 20th.

Applications may be emailed to:
Ellie East, NCPC Executive Director

If you prefer to mail your application send it to the address below. Applications must be postmarked by the deadline.

Robert James Award for Preservation Excellence Committee
North Carolina Preservation Consortium
P. O. Box 2651
Durham, NC 27715-2651

Previous Award Recipients